Skip to content
Jul 22 / Cameron's

Jasper Jones adapted by Kate Mulvany opens for Barking Gecko

Jasper

Kate Mulvany has adapted Craig Silvey’s best-selling novel, Jasper Jones for for the stage for Barking Gecko Theatre Company, which opened last week and has been praised with a 4 1/2 star review from The West Australian, David Zampatti writes:

“Jasper Jones is a standout….Kate Mulvany’s skilful adaptation adds stagecraft to Silvey’s novel… Jasper Jones is our next Cloudstreet. It loses nothing by the comparison”.

It’s been referred to as the “landmark event in this year’s cultural calendar – when the classic WA novel, adapted by lauded WA playwright Kate Mulvany, becomes a modern classic play.” (Artshub)

For more information, click here.

Jul 18 / Cameron's

Congratulations to clients nominated for the 2014 AWGIE Awards

AAAAAAAA

The 47th Annual AWGIE Awards have just been announced, and we are delighted to congratulate to the following nominated clients:

TELEVISION MINI-SERIES – ORIGINAL
The Devil’s Playground – Blake Ayshford, Tommy Murphy
The Code – Blake Ayshford
Old School – Paul Oliver

TELEVISION – SERIES
Rake: Series 3 ‘Their Lordships v. Finnane’Peter Duncan

FEATURE FILM – ORIGINAL
Cut Snake – Blake Ayshford

RADIO – ORIGINAL BROADCAST
My Life In Cookbooks – Noëlle Janaczewska

STAGE
Savages – Patricia Cornelius

CHILDREN’S THEATRE
The 13-Storey Treehouse – Richard Tulloch

 

The 2014 AWGIE Awards ceremony will be hosted by Australian comedy writing legend Ian Simmons and held on Friday 5th September at Doltone House Hyde Park, Sydney. For the full list of nominees, click here.

Jul 11 / Cameron's

Congratulations Adam Arkapaw – Emmy nomination ‘True Detective’

Congratulations to Cameron’s client Adam Arkapaw, nominated for an Emmy – Outstanding Cinematography for a Single Camera Series on HBO’s True Detective starring Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson. This is Adam’s second Emmy nomination having won last year for his cinematography on Top Of The Lake.

True-Detective-Title-Art

Jul 9 / Cameron's

‘Felony’ – Costume Design by Joanna Mae Park

Felony starring Joel Edgerton, Jai Courtney, Tom Wilkinson and Melissa George (managed by Cameron’s), with costumes designed by Cameron’s client Joanna Mae Park, will close the Melbourne International Film Festival on August 16 and is set for a Australia wide release on August 28.

Felony Poster

To view the official Australian trailer please click here.

Jul 3 / Cameron's

New Dark Child series from Adina West

Adina WestMOM041_Dark_Child_2_01_AW‘s debut novel-as-series, DARK CHILD, is still finding readers all over the world. Now the first episode of the sequel, DARK CHILD: COVENS RISING, has been released in digital format.

***

 Kat is done with being on the run, or so she hopes. A new pathology job in Paris is her big chance to start afresh, far from the Taberin Directorate who want her dead. Sure, adjusting to life as a half-vampire, half-human hybrid in transition poses its own challenges, but it’s nothing Kat can’t handle until the past starts to catch up with her.

When she’s approached by one Taberin male from her past, she can explain it away. But add in another territorial Taberin with a newfound conscience and it’s starting to get crowded on Kat’s Montmartre window ledge. Past experience tells Kat to be cautious, especially in her vulnerable state. But how can she tell friend from foe?

Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, Dark Child (Covens Rising) is the highly anticipated sequel to the best-selling urban fantasy novel Dark Child (The Awakening). This title is the first novella-length episode of Dark Child (Covens Rising), which will conclude with Episode 5.

***

Read an extract of DARK CHILD: COVENS RISING on the website of the book’s publisher, Momentum. You can buy the first episode on iTunes, Google Play, Amazon and Kobo. Further episodes and the omnibus edition will be released soon. For details and links, visit the Momentum website

 

Jul 3 / Cameron's

Every Second directed by Shannon Murphy opens for Darlinghurst Theatre Co

Every Second by Vanessa Bates has opened at Darlinghurst Theatre Co’s Eternity Playhouse.

Every Second is the story of two thirty-something couples hell bent on having a child. They’ve given up sushi and champagne, as well as their sanity. But how much more are they willing to sacrifice?

Photograph: Louis Dillon-Savage/Darlinghurst Theatre

Photograph: Louis Dillon-Savage/Darlinghurst Theatre

Jason Blake for The Sydney Morning Herald writes: Shannon Murphy’s direction is first-rate in a production featuring a zany interpretive dance sequence (with actors dressed as sperm), intricately observed exchanges between uniformly excellent actors, and breathing spaces in which the audience can empathise and think their own thoughts. 

For more information or to book tickets, click here.

 

 

 

 

Jun 27 / Cameron's

Praise for Malla Nunn’s Present Darkness

Malla Nunn’s fourth Emmanuel Cooper mystery, Present Darkness, has been published to acclaim (and a pretty good cover, too!). Set in the corrupt, unforgiving world of apartheid South Africa, the sensational new novel in the Detective Emmanuel Cooper series follows Cooper as he faces a test of loyalty and friendship.

In the Sydney Morning Herald, critic Sue Turnbull wrote: ‘What makes Cooper such an interesting (and excellent) detective is his ability to straddle the divide that separates class, race and cultures. But it’s a perilous balancing act. Nunn’s achievement is to keep us caring about the consequences if Cooper loses his footing. Present Darkness manages the tension beautifully.

Malla has twice been shortlisted for the prestigious Edgar Award in the United States of America, where her novels are also published.

Present Darkness is available now in bookshops and as an e-book. For more information, visit the publisher, Xoum.

Jun 27 / Cameron's

Aimee Said’s Freia wins award

Aimee Said’s third young adult novel, Freia Lockhart’s Summer of Awful – the sequel to Finding Freia Lockhart – has won the Children’s/Youth Literature Award in the 2014 Australian Family Therapists’ Awards for Children’s Literature.  The Family Therapist’s Award Committee commended it for its ‘good depiction of family working together through the crisis, healthy role modeling, good boundary setting, open and honest communication, intergenerational support all encompassing the ability to be courageous and determined’.

About the novel:

Freia Lockhart has the essentials for an awesome summer: great new friends, a supremely kissable boyfriend, plans for New Year s Eve (which don t include her parents) and no school. When her mum reveals some devastating news, Freia s plans for the summer of her dreams are crushed. Now she s trying to keep things together at home and salvage her holidays, but it s not easy when you ve got secrets to keep, a little brother who s going off the rails and a nosy gran who won t stay out of your business.

For more information, visit the Walker Books website.

Penny Tangey’s Stay Well Soon (UQP) was recommended as being useful for therapists, and we congratulate both of these wonderful authors on their accolades.

Jun 20 / alexhahn

Shannon Murphy’s Kharisma screening at Palm Springs

Kharisma, directed and co-written by client Shannon Murphy screens at Palm Springs International Film Festival this Saturday. This screening follows the film’s showing at Cannes as a part of Cinema des Antipodes in May.

STILL_004

‘When she’s overlooked by her father for the annual talent show once again, Kharisma goes to great lengths to get him to appreciate her special abilities.’

To view the screening details of Kharisma at Palm Springs, click here.

Jun 18 / Cameron's

Production begins on Michael Rymer’s ‘Deadline Gallipoli’

Deadline Gallipoli, directed by Cameron’s client Michael Rymer (Hannibal, Battlestar Galactica, American Horror Story) has commenced production in South Australia.

The miniseries starring Sam Worthington (Avatar) , Hugh Dancy (Hannibal), Rachel Griffiths (Brothers and Sisters), Charles Dance (Game of Thrones) and Bryan Brown (Australia) looks at the Gallipoli legend from the point of view of four war correspondents Charles Bean, Ellis Ashmead-Bartlett, Phillip Schuler and Keith Murdoch. The actions of these men will help change the course of the campaign, ensure that a strategic disaster becomes a legend of human heroism, and leave an impregnable mark on each of their lives.

The miniseries will air on Foxtel’s showcase channel in 2015 to coincide with the World War I Centenary commemorations.