Skip to content

Frank Moorhouse


(This is a selection of titles, not a complete list)

Cold Light (fiction, Random House 2011)

Martini: A Memoir (2005)

Inspector-General of Misconception: Despatches from the Office (2002)

Dark Palace (fiction, Random House 2000)

Loose Living (non-fiction, Random House 1995)

Grand Days (fiction, Random House 1993)

Lateshows (non-fiction, Random House 1990)

Forty-Seventeen (1988)

Room Service (1985)

The Everlasting Secret Family (1980)

Days of Wine and Rage (1980)

Tales of Mystery and Romance (1977)

Conference-ville (1976)

The Electrical Experience (1974)

The Americans, Baby (1972)

Futility and Other Animals (1969)


Frank Moorhouse was born in the coastal town of Nowra, NSW. He worked as an editor of small-town newspapers and as an administrator and in the 1970s became a full-time writer. He has written fiction, non fiction, screenplays and essays and edited many collections of writing. FORTY-SEVENTEEN was given a laudatory full-page review by Angela Carter in the New York Times and was named Book of the Year by the Age and ‘moral winner’ of the Booker Prize by the London magazine Blitz. Grand Days, the first novel in The Edith Trilogy, won the SA Premier’s Award for Fiction. Dark Palace won the 2001 Miles Franklin Literary Award and was shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Literary Award, the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award and the Age Book of the Year Award. Frank has undertaken numerous fellowships and his work has been translated into several languages. He was made a member of the Order of Australia for services to literature in 1985 and was awarded an honorary doctorate from Griffith University in 1997.



Dark Palace: The Miles Franklin Award
Grand Days:  Adelaide Festival National Prize for Fiction
Forty-Seventeen:  The Age Book of the Year Award and the Australian Literature Society’s Gold Medal
The Electrical Experience: won the National Award for Fiction